Nas tells label he’s “Nobody’s Slave” but is this another publicity stunt?

8 Oct

An email that was sent by hip hop legend Nas to Def Jam executives has been leaked tonight.  The MC had written an angry letter to the heads of his label demanding that they release his album Lost Tapes Vol. 2 by winter.  I’m a big hip hop fan and Nas is clearly a legend, but I’ve previously lost a lot of respect for the rapper and I fear that this is just another publicity stunt to try to save an album that would have probably flopped anyway.  For those wondering why I would think this, let’s have a look at the back story.

Nas is often credited for writing the best hip hop album ever ‘illmatic’ and is also known for getting the better of his former rival Jay-Z on the diss track Ether.  Trying to top what people consider the best hip hop album has obviously harmed Nas and his following releases have struggled.  He has often relied on attention seeking album titles to get sales.  He called one album ‘Stillmatic’ (see what he did there?) and also used controversial album names such as ‘Hip Hop is Dead’ and after failing to call an album ‘Nigger’, the release was referred to as ‘Untitled’.

While he may have won the battle on track with Jay-z, it was his rival that won the long-term war.   Jay-z signed Nas to Def Jam while he was label president, publicly ending their beef in the process.  Jigga, who has become arguably become the most successful rapper ever, later left the label to sign a massive $150 million deal with concert promoters Live Nation, leaving Nas to his own devices once again.

His personal life hasn’t exactly been that great either as his split with ex-wife Kelis cost him greatly in the courts.  The singer (who was pregnant at the time) had claimed that the rapper had treated her with expensive gifts during their relationship and this standard of financial rewards should continue after the split.  The crazy judge agreed and Nas was ordered to pay $40,000 a month (later extended to $51,000 after she appealed), it was rumoured that he was already owing millions to the IRS and I’m sure he was sickened to see her release a new album this year!

So with all this said, please take this into consideration when reading the email.
Peace to all,

With all do respect to you all, Nas is NOBODY’s slave. This is not the 1800′s, respect me and I will respect you.

I won’t even tap dance around in an email, I will get right into it. People connect to the Artist @ the end of the day, they don’t connect with the executives. Honestly, nobody even cares what label puts out a great record, they care about who recorded it. Yet time and time again its the executives who always stand in the way of a creative artist’s dream and aspirations. You don’t help draw the truth from my deepest and most inner soul, you don’t even do a great job @ selling it. The #1 problem with DEF JAM is pretty simple and obvious, the executives think they are the stars. You aren’t…. not even close. As a matter of fact, you wish you were, but it didn’t work out so you took a desk job. To the consumer, I COME FIRST. Stop trying to deprive them! I have a fan base that dies for my music and a RAP label that doesn’t understand RAP. Pretty f***** up situation

This isn’t the 90′s though. Beefing with record labels is so 15 years ago. @ this point I just need you all to be very clear where I stand and how I feel about “my label.” I could go on twitter or hot 97 tomorrow and get 100,000 protesters @ your building but I choose to walk my own path my own way because since day one I have been my own man. I did business with Tommy Mottola and Donnie Einer, two of the most psycho dudes this business ever created. I worked well with them for one major reason……. they believed in me. The didn’t give a f*** about what any radio station or magazine said….those dudes had me.

Lost Tapes is a movement and a very important set up piece for my career as it stands. I started this over 5 years ago @ Columbia and nobody knew what it was or what it did but the label put it out as an LP and the fans went crazy for it and I single handlely built a new brand of rap albums. It’s smart and after 5 years it’s still a head of the game. This feels great and you not feeling what I’m feeling is disturbing. Don’t get in the way of my creativity. We are aligned with the stars here, this is a movement. There is a thing called KARMA that comes to haunt you when you tamper with the aligning stars. WE ARE GIVING THE PEOPLE EXACTLY WHAT THEY WANT. Stop throwing dog s*** on a MAGICAL moment.

You don’t get another Nas recording that doesn’t count against my deal….PERIOD! Keep your b******* $200,000.00 fund. Open the REAL budget. This is a New York pioneers ALBUM, there ain’t many of us. I am ready to drop in the 4th quarter. You don’t even have s*** coming out! Stop being your own worst enemy. Let’s get money!

-N.Jones

So what do you think? Note that he says that he could easily go to twitter and get 100,000 fans protesting as a threat but yet we are now reading this private email that has been leaked.  It wouldn’t be beneficial for Def Jam to leak the email so it’s obvious it’s came from his side.   I think Nas needs to take a long hard look at himself first at why his records aren’t selling before he criticises someone else!  Maybe he should consider getting a ticket for todays Euromillions jackpot  to solve his financial problems!


Leave a Reply

